Taking it One Change at a Time

Image

Looking for some great inspiration for getting healthy in the New Year? Check out our recent interview with Dannii of HungryHealthyHappy. Dannii has lost 100lbs through a series of lifestyle changes! Read on to learn more about how she manages to stay healthy while enjoying her new lifestyle which even includes a few indulgences along the way. 

When and how did your weight loss journey begin?

It began in 2008 when I was having health problems. I couldn’t breathe very well and my heart rate was too fast – both of which were caused by the junk I was eating. I have tried “dieting” many times before, but this time I knew it had to be for good. So I decided to not diet, and just make healthy changes.

What do you feel have been the most important lifestyle changes you’ve made?

Making everything from scratch and being aware of ingredients and where my food came from. Once I started looking at ingredients of the things I was eating, I was amazed.

How have you managed to stay on track throughout the years? And what you are your plans for maintaining your weight in the future?  

I stayed on track by reminding myself that it was okay to sometimes fall off track. My eating can never be 100% perfect, nor should I aim it to be. If I ended up eating too much pizza, or 1 too many slices of cake, I didn’t punish myself or say “I might as well give up”. I just picked myself up and carried on. That is my plan for the future too. I follow the 80/20 rule. 80% of my eating is clean, but there is 20% for me to enjoy some indulgences.

What are some of your favorite exercises?

I love swimming and I found it one of the best exercises as it targets your whole body and it is low impact too, so you are less likely to get injured compared to something like running. I am currently training to do a 5km charity swim. I am aiming to do it in under 2 hours, but it will be tough.

 Do you have a favorite work out song?

Just anything fast and heavy. I couldn’t work out to a ballad – unless I was doing yoga, which I also love.

What are some of your favorite low calorie meals? Snacks?

Salad is always a good choice. I have so many people saying to me “salad is so boring”. My response to that is “you are not doing it right”. Salad is so versatile – I love it. My favourite low calorie snack has to be fruit. It is so quick too – I always keep some in my bag for when I am out.

What made you decide to start blogging about your weight loss journey?

It started because I didn’t want to bombard my friends and family with what I was eating and what my workout was that day. I didn’t actually start the blog until I reached my goal weight, so it was a way for me to stick to my new lifestyle. I also thought, if I struggled with certain things, there must be others out there the same and I wanted to share the knowledge I had gained along the way. Sure, there are lots of celebrities in magazines sharing their weight loss, but I wanted to show that an everyday person can do it too, without a personal trainer/chef.

If you could give our readers looking to shed a few pounds one piece of advice, what would it be?

Make one small change at a time. If you have a lot of weight to lose, then looking at all the things you need to change and focusing on the 100lb you want to lose can be overwhelming. Just focus on the first 5lbs and make one change. It might be making a healthy breakfast every morning. Work on that for a week or 2 and then make another change. Weight loss isn’t a race, but if it was, it would be a marathon, not a sprint. It is going to take time, but it will be worth it.

You’ve inspired many people to change their lifestyles – who or what are some of your inspirations?

I am inspired by all the people that follow my blog. I get so many messages from people sharing their stories, sharing their victories and also sharing their struggles, but following it up with how they are going to overcome them. That is what keeps me inspired every day.

What is your favorite thing to eat for lunch?

Salad or soup. Lunch time is the time I probably have the least amount of time to make food, so they are quick and easy. I am also a fan of leftovers for lunch.

 

Dannii is a health and fitness blogger from Manchester, England that shares the recipes and health and fitness tips that helped her to lose 100lbs and keep it off. She follows the 80/20 rule, where she eats clean 80% of the time, but still allows a few indulgences in her life. Through her blog and social media she has built up a community of people who have ditched the diets and are focusing on a healthy lifestyle change. You can learn more about Dannii at: http://www.hungryhealthyhappy.com/.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.